The President Hotel Blackpool
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Blackpool Illuminations 2016

2 September 2016 @ 9:25 pm - 7 November 2016 @ 11:00 pm

We have compiled all you should need to know to make the most of the Blackpool Illuminations in 2016, including:

  • What’s New for 2016
  • Returning Displays
  • LightPool 2016
  • The LightPool Village (New for 2016)
  • Illuminations & LightPool Map
  • The Illuminations Schedule

 

What’s New for 2016

THE GRAND ENTRANCE
This year when you begin your Illuminations 2016 experience, you will be greeted with a mixture of light and sound. The new look welcome tunnel will be the beginning of your journey in the car or on a coach, so you will be given a warm welcome as you begin your drive up the promenade. A new welcome area will also be in place at the North section up at Bispham. Please go and have a look at this too!

The Illuminations rely greatly on donations from the public or businesses and this year, the new look collection huts give you the chance to make a donation and to buy some official merchandise from a new drive through shop! All the money from donations (and also merchandise) is reinvested into the design and creation of new displays and experiences.

STAR TREK
A special section in the Golden Mile will commemorate fifty years of one of the biggest TV and movie franchises of all time, Star Trek. Five decades ago, the first episode aired on television. Now, Star Trek is a multi-billion pound franchise!

For Blackpool Illuminations 2016, will be celebrating this popular franchise with a Star Trek extravaganza! There will be a major exhibition in the heart of the Golden Mile. Furthermore, across the road will be a display showcasing the many different captains of the Enterprise.

MAGICAL FORESTS
A brand new experience at both the southern Starr Gate entrance of the display and the Cliffs section, allows you to enter a magical forest of illuminated trees and light with all your favourite characters. This offers great photo opportunities. Get those selfies online now using the hashtag #magicalforest.

BEACH HOUSE BOULEVARD
One of Blackpool’s newest bar and restaurants, the Beach House, has signed up for a five-year display. This will light up the section of the Illuminations from Talbot Square up to their venue, next to the wedding chapel.

CHANDELIER CAUSEWAY
In addition, a new road section for Blackpool Illuminations 2016 includes a series of stunning lighting festoon and Chandeliers celebrating the glamour and glitz of lighting. This is guaranteed to be an eye-catching display.

KALEIDOSCOPIA
A brand new experience at the southern Starr Gate entrance of the display will see over 1,000 LED lights mysteriously change colour and patterns. This creates a multitude of rhythmic shapes in light above you as you enter the show.

MANDARIN LANTERNS
Blackpool’s long-established, award-winning Chinese restaurant, ‘Michael Wan’s Mandarin, is also supporting Blackpool Illuminations. The company has signed up for a two-year, light box display between Gynn Island and the Hilton Hotel.

 

Returning Displays

BLING
Bling is the stunning, sparkling jewellery-inspired section, sponsored by Beaverbrooks who celebrate their tenth year sponsoring the Illuminations.

BALLROOM GLITZ
Drawing on Blackpool’s reputation as the home of ballroom dancing thanks to the success of Strictly Come Dancing, the creative curator of the Blackpool Illuminations, Laurence Llewelyn Bowen, has designed Ballroom Glitz. The glamourous section will sit opposite the Sands Venue – who also generously sponsor the display – and you can bet there won’t be a sequin out of place.

GLAMPIRE RE-VAMPED!
Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen’s 2015 work is a spooky take on the vampire but in LLB’s own glamourous style. The sleek, shiny tableau takes the concept to frightening new lengths and, can promise you, looks incredible.

ALICE’S GARDEN
Co-designed by LLB and the in-house team, this stunning tableau is situated by Blackpool Pleasure Beach. Drawing on the story of Alice in Wonderland and, in particular, the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party, the design features a magical water garden and is perfect for those who wish to explore the Illuminations on foot. It’s also huge, stretching for more than one hundred metres and features an eight foot bridge. Visit Alice’s Garden one night and take a stroll! Alice’s Garden is sponsored by the Houndshill Shopping Centre.

DYNAMO
Both dynamic and dazzling, this road-section of twenty major features. Located near to South Pier, the display includes multiple and ever changing spinning colours in a whirlwind of light. This sure fire crowd pleaser is sponsored by Eviivo.

McDONALD’S
The iconic fast food restaurant have signed a three-year deal to continue their sponsorship of the section outside their Promenade restaurant. Blackpool Illuminations are grateful for their ongoing support.

LOGO LIGHTS
Businesses are being invited to see their name up in lights during this year’s Illuminations display. Introduced last year, “Logo Lights” gives businesses a chance to have their logo displayed in the Illuminations. One hundred and fifty slots are available. These will be displayed on the famous Cliffs section opposite the Miner’s home building, North Shore.

HEAD LIGHTS
Similar to Logo Lights, the “Head Lights” feature is the interactive part of Blackpool Illuminations, allowing you, your dad or even your dog, to be up in lights. For seventy-three nights, the face or faces you submit will keep the resort aglow. Although it is too late to be a part of this year’s display, there is always next year… Click here for more information.

MIRRORBALL ARCHES
Sponsored by Blackpool’s Knight Rigging Services, the arches welcome people into Blackpool at the South end of the Illuminations.

ART FOR WALLS
Sponsored by Graham and Brown, Art for Walls is the biggest gallery of original illuminated urban art in the world. This display will be situated in between Blackpool Tower and The President Hotel.

 

LightPool

LightPool is back for 2016 and is bigger and better than ever before!

Funded by a £2 million grant from the Coastal Communities Fund, alongside further investment from Blackpool Council, LightPool will launch you into the next dimension and leave you starry-eyed. The displays are free, and enable visitors to celebrate light with a new level of interaction and diversity.

From the start of September, there will be a series of three stunning 3D shows projected onto the base of Blackpool Tower that bring to you a mixture of fantasy, fact and fiction. These shows have been specifically designed for LightPool and you can watch from the LightPool Village (Read more below).

The three new films, along with two popular shows from last year’s LightPool events, will be available to watch for free several times a night. There will be extra performances at weekends and over the October half-term.

To help give you a better all-round experience, we have a team of resort ambassadors joining us. The ambassadors will make sure you’re enjoying your visit to its fullest by offering a friendly face as well as giving you helpful information.

The Grundy Art Gallery will house part of the LightPool celebration and will this year be hosting a special neon-themed exhibition. And at the end of October the grand finale will see live performance art take your breath away as part of the LightPool Festival. This will include a series of free shows and workshops celebrating light and fire from both UK and overseas talent.

LightPool at Blackpool Illuminations is the event to visit in 2016.
LightPool Village

For 2016 there will be another new experience – the LightPool Village. The LightPool Village will be on the Promenade around the Comedy Carpet (opposite Blackpool Tower). This area will be open both day and night for you to watch the projection shows in a unique atmosphere!

There will be stalls where you can buy some official merchandise and grab a bite to eat. Why not have your photo projected onto the tower and then take home a souvenir photo package? Visitors will have access to refreshment stalls and some entertainment to create a fun atmosphere before, during and after our LightPool projection shows.

Because Blackpool Council hopes to make it a better experience for everyone for generations to come, the Illuminations team reinvest every year. Every penny of profit that is received, is put back in so that exciting new developments can be delivered every year.

 

Illuminations & LightPool Map

Illuminations & LightPool Map

 

The Illuminations Schedule
DATE DAY ON OFF
2nd September Friday ** 9.25 p.m. 2.00 a.m.
3rd September Saturday 8.00 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
4th September Sunday 8.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
5th September Monday 8.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
6th September Tuesday 8.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
7th September Wednesday 8.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
8th September Thursday 8.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
9th September Friday 8.00 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
10th September Saturday 8.00 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
11th September Sunday 8.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
12th September Monday 8.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
13th September Tuesday 8.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
14th September Wednesday 8.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
15th September Thursday 8.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
16th September Friday 7.45 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
17th September Saturday 7.45 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
18th September Sunday 7.45 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
19th September Monday 7.45 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
20th September Tuesday 7.45 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
21st September Wednesday 7.45 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
22nd September Thursday 7.45 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
23rd September Friday 7.30 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
24th September Saturday 7.30 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
25th September Sunday 7.30 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
26th September Monday 7.30 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
27th September Tuesday 7.30 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
28th September Wednesday 7.30 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
29th September Thursday 7.30 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
30th September Friday 7.15 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
1st October Saturday 7.15 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
2nd October Sunday 7.15 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
3rd October Monday 7.15 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
4th October Tuesday 7.15 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
5th October Wednesday 7.15 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
6th October Thursday 7.15 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
7th October Friday 7.00 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
8th October Saturday 7.00 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
9th October Sunday 7.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
10th October Monday 7.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
11th October Tuesday 7.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
12th October Wednesday 7.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
13th October Thursday 7.00 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
14th October Friday 6.45 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
15th October Saturday 6.45 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
16th October Sunday 6.45 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
17th October Monday 6.45 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
18th October Tuesday 6.45 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
19th October Wednesday 6.45 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
20th October Thursday 6.45 p.m. 10.30 p.m.
21st October Friday 6.30 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
22nd October Saturday 6.30 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
23rd October Sunday 6.30 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
24th October Monday 6.30 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
25th October Tuesday 6.30 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
26th October Wednesday 6.30 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
27th October Thursday 6.30 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
28th October Friday 6.15 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
29th October Saturday * 6.15 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
30th October Sunday 5.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
31st October Monday 5.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
1st November Tuesday 5.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
2nd November Wednesday 5.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
3rd November Thursday 5.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.
4th November Friday 5.00 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
5th November Saturday 5.00 p.m. 12.00 a.m.
6th November Sunday 5.00 p.m. 11.00 p.m.

 

** Celebrity switch on maybe subject to change

* End of British Summer Time

 

Coastal Communities Fund

The Coastal Communities Fund is funded by the Government with income from the Crown Estate’s marine assets. This project is delivered by the Big Lottery Fund on behalf of UK Government and the Devolved Administrations in Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Details

Start:
2 September 2016 @ 9:25 pm
End:
7 November 2016 @ 11:00 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Blackpool Promenade & Town Centre
Blackpool, Lancashire United Kingdom
Website:
http://illuminations.visitblackpool.com/